Claude Safari extension: what works instead
As of October 2026, I found no official Safari extension from Anthropic, OpenAI, or Google that reads or acts on the page you’re viewing. Anthropic’s Claude in Chrome documentation covers Google Chrome only; OpenAI’s Mac app compatibility list does not list Safari; and Google’s Gemini help page lists Safari as a supported browser for the Gemini web app.
Is there an official Claude Safari extension?
No official Claude Safari extension appears in Anthropic’s product or help pages checked October 2026. Anthropic’s Claude in Chrome help page says to open Google Chrome and install the Claude browser extension from the Chrome Web Store, and that the extension is not supported on other Chromium-based browsers or on mobile devices. It can read web text and, with its browser-control permissions, click, type, and take screenshots. It is available on all paid Claude plans (Pro, Max, Team, and Enterprise).
The Claude by Anthropic iPhone app is a standalone iPhone and iPad app, not a Safari extension. And Claude for Safari is a community skill for Claude Code that uses AppleScript and page JavaScript to control Safari; it is not made by Anthropic and it is not an extension.
Google’s Gemini web app works in Safari, but Google does not document automatic access to another Safari tab. OpenAI’s ChatGPT iPhone app does add a ChatGPT Safari extension, called ChatGPT Search, but it only sends the searches you type in Safari to ChatGPT; setup asks you to allow it on google.com (AppleInsider, March 2025).
What can the official routes see in Safari?
For a quick summary, start with Safari’s built-in Apple Intelligence feature. In Safari 27 on Mac, click in the Smart Search field, then choose Summarize; Apple says it generates a summary of the webpage. It isn’t available in all languages or regions, and usage limits may apply. The macOS 27 Safari guide documents it as part of Apple Intelligence, not a separate Safari purchase; the iOS 27 guide documents webpage summaries on iPhone.
ChatGPT through Apple Intelligence is useful when you choose the text or prompt to send. On macOS 27, set it up at System Settings → Siri → ChatGPT → Set Up; you can continue without signing in to a ChatGPT account. Writing Tools can compose with ChatGPT in websites and other places where you write, but it is not a Safari sidebar that automatically reads the open page. Apple says you choose what content is sent. Check Apple’s macOS 27 setup and privacy notes before sending page text.
ChatGPT’s desktop app has a built-in browser, according to OpenAI’s help page. It can read and act on that browser’s pages, but uses separate state from Safari; OpenAI says “available features may depend on your plan and workspace settings.”
Google’s Gemini web app supports Safari on Mac; its iPhone and iPad guide also lists Safari. With no official Gemini extension for Safari that reads the page, open gemini.google.com and paste the page text; Google does not document automatic access to another tab. Safari 27 also adds Safari MCP for coding agents to inspect a page’s DOM, requests, screenshots, and console while debugging, per WebKit.
Which Safari AI extensions can read the page?
Third-party extensions can put an assistant beside the page, but check the data path and website permission before enabling one. Apple says Safari extensions may access page content. Its guide for extensions in Safari web apps on macOS Tahoe 26 calls one permission Always Allow on Every Website; it lets an extension “read and alter all websites you visit, and to see all your activity in this app.” The same guide documents access to selected sites. Because that wording covers Safari web apps, check Safari’s own prompt and site controls for the extension you install.
| Option | Official or third-party | Mac / iPhone Safari | Page access | Account or key | Price checked October 2026 | Latest update shown |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claude in Chrome, Anthropic Help (2026) | Official Anthropic | No / no | Reads Chrome pages and can control Chrome; not Safari | Paid Claude plan (Pro, Max, Team, or Enterprise) | Included in paid Claude plans | Help page dated August 26, 2026 |
| Gemini web app, Google Help (2026) | Official Google | Yes / yes, in Safari | Only the content you open or provide in Gemini; no documented access to another tab | Personal Google Account for the web app; on iPhone, some features work signed out (Google, 2026) | Not listed on these help pages | Help page date not stated; checked October 2026 |
| Safari Summarize, Apple Support (2026) | Official Apple | Yes / yes | Summarizes the current Safari page | No separate account documented | Apple Intelligence feature; no separate Safari purchase listed | Safari 27 guide; checked October 2026 |
| ChatGPT with Apple Intelligence, Apple Support (2026) | Official Apple + OpenAI | Mac / not covered in this Mac guide | Content you choose to send through Siri or Writing Tools; not automatic page access | ChatGPT account optional | No separate Apple charge documented; ChatGPT plan optional | Guide date not stated; checked October 2026 |
| ChatGPT desktop browser, OpenAI Help (2026) | Official OpenAI | Mac app, not Safari / no | Reads pages in its own built-in browser | ChatGPT account; features may depend on plan and workspace settings | Depends on ChatGPT plan | Help page updated about October 2, 2026 |
| AlliHat, App Store (2026) | Third-party, App Store | Mac / no | Safari sidebar reads pages; Agent Mode can click, fill, scroll, and navigate | AlliHat subscription; AI provider account or API key, or Apple Intelligence | $29.99/year; provider charges can be separate | Version 3.2.12, October 2, 2026 |
| Extension AI, App Store (2026) | Third-party, App Store | Mac / iPhone / iPad | Listing says it analyzes selected text or the whole page; one of its two reviews says it just redirects to ChatGPT | Not stated in the listing | $2.99 upfront; no in-app purchases listed | Version 1.2, December 12, 2025; 2 ratings, average 1.0 |
| AI Notes for Safari, App Store (2026) | Third-party, App Store | Mac / no | Sidebar asks about or summarizes the current page | No account; Apple Intelligence required | Free | Version 1.0.9; update date not shown in listing checked October 2026 |
| Claude for Safari, GitHub (2026) | Third-party GitHub skill | Mac / no | Claude Code can read page text, inspect DOM, screenshot, and control Safari | Claude Code-compatible agent account | Skill is MIT-licensed; agent use may cost money | Latest commit date not shown; repository checked October 4, 2026 |
| Safari MCP, WebKit (2026) | Official WebKit developer feature | Mac Safari 27 / no iPhone route documented | Agent can inspect and interact with Safari pages for debugging | MCP-compatible coding agent | No separate Safari charge documented; agent may cost money | Safari 27, released September 14, 2026 (Apple, 2026) |
| Copy page text into an AI chat | No extension | Yes / yes | Only the text or screenshot you choose to copy and send | Account for the AI service you use | Depends on the AI service | No update needed |
| Octoweb 0.16 (2026) | Third-party browser | Mac / no | ⌘⇧A opens its AI sidebar; ⌘⇧K explains selected text with page context; ⌥⌘C copies page Markdown |
Your provider key through octomind | Browser free and open source; provider usage may cost money | Version 0.16.0, September 2026 |
AlliHat is the closest match for a model-powered Safari sidebar. The listing offers a seven-day trial, then $29.99 per year; model-provider charges can be separate. It supports Claude, ChatGPT, Gemini, and Apple Intelligence, and requires macOS 14 or later.
For a free on-device option, AI Notes for Safari's listing says it can summarize and chat about the current page. It requires an Apple Intelligence-enabled Mac running macOS 26 or later and no account. The listing shows version 1.0.9 but no update date.
Can Claude Code control Safari without an extension?
Yes. The community Claude for Safari skill controls the native Safari app through macOS automation. Its README documents reading pages, running JavaScript, screenshots, navigation, and clicks. It requires macOS permissions for terminal automation and Safari’s developer features; reliable background screenshots also require Screen Recording permission. Use it if you already work in Claude Code and want an agent to operate the Safari session you have open.
Safari MCP is another developer route, but WebKit positions it for testing and debugging websites. Safari 27’s Safari → Settings → Advanced → Show features for web developers reveals developer settings; then enable Safari → Settings → Developer → Allow remote automation and external agents. A coding agent can then inspect or interact with a Safari tab. The WebKit guide says page data goes to the agent you run. Do not treat MCP as a personal assistant sidebar or enable remote automation for an agent you do not trust.
Which route should you choose?
- One summary, no new extension: use Safari’s built-in Summarize feature.
- Ask Claude about a page: use Claude in Chrome (paid Claude plans) if switching browsers is acceptable; otherwise copy the relevant text into Claude or use a third-party Safari extension after checking its website access.
- Ask ChatGPT about text: use Apple Intelligence Writing Tools or Siri and choose what to send. Use ChatGPT’s own desktop browser if you need an agent to interact with a page.
- Ask Gemini about a page: open Gemini in Safari and paste the relevant text. For a Safari sidebar, AlliHat supports Gemini but is paid.
- Let a coding agent test a site in Safari: choose Safari MCP or Claude for Safari. MCP is designed around developer debugging; Claude for Safari targets Claude Code and other compatible agents.
- Keep a keyboard-driven browser workflow: I build Octoweb, so weigh that accordingly. It is a free, open-source Mac browser built on the same WebKit engine as Safari. Its
⌘⇧Asidebar uses your own provider key through octomind, and⌥⌘Ccopies the current page as Markdown. The website-to-Markdown guide shows what to consider when copying a page for an LLM.
Octoweb is free and open source, for macOS.
Install it →